Home »


Industrial Advisory Board

Olaf Storaasli

Olaaf was a researcher at Oak Ridge National Laboratory (Computer Science and Mathematics Division’s Future Technologies Group) and USEC following his NASA career. He led the hardware, software and applications teams’ successful development of one of NASA’s 1st parallel computers, the Finite element machine and developed rapid matrix equation algorithms to exploit accelerators (FPGAs) to solve science and engineering applications. He was PhD advisor and graduate instructor at UT, GWU and CNU and mentored 25 NHGS students. He is recognized by American Men and Women of Science, Marquis Who’s Who, and NASA, Cray, Intel and Concordia College awards. NASA Awards include Viking Mars Lander design and Engineering Analysis (IPAD, RIM, HPC, FPGA, SPAR, FEM, Space Shuttle SRB and NASA Software-of-the-year).

Simon McIntosh-Smith

Simon McIntosh-Smith leads the HPC research group at the University of Bristol in the UK. His background is in microprocessor architecture, with a 15 year career in industry at companies including Inmos, STMicroelectronics, Pixelfusion and ClearSpeed. McIntosh-Smith co-founded ClearSpeed in 2002 where, as Director of Architecture and Applications, he co-developed the first modern many-core HPC accelerators. In 2003 he led the development of the first accelerated BLAS/LAPACK and FFT libraries, leading to the creation of the first modern accelerated Top500 system, TSUBAME-1.0 at Tokyo Tech in 2006. He joined the University of Bristol in 2009 where his research focuses on many-core algorithms and performance portability, and fault tolerant software techniques to reach Exascale. He is a joint recipient of an R&D 100 award for his contribution to Sandia’s Mantevo benchmark suite, and in 2014 he was awarded the first Intel Parallel Computing Center in the UK. McIntosh-Smith actively contributes to the Khronos OpenCL heterogeneous many-core programming standard.